Brand New Toy

30/12/2009 at 4:04 pm (Acoustic, Guitars, Music, Rock, Toys)


It was my Christmas present to me; a Crafter SAT-M semi acoustic guitar in silver. 

I don’t know if I can get across the feeling of owning a new guitar.  Actually, it’s pretty easy. Like anything that’s new and you enjoy – your iPhone, your laptop, your car, your house –  you really hope you like it after you’ve bought it.  Sure, you shop around, and you should always try before you buy. 

*ahem* Thanks, eBay…

 The “Excalibur Feeling” is brief.  Then you just want to plug it in and get going, hoping you don’t get cramped fingers from an unwieldy neck, or that it doesn’t buzz like a bumblebee.  The weight is right, the sound is expressive, ranging from sustained, sumptuous notes to punchy and thick chords. 

Almost sounds like I know what I’m talking about.  I actually bought this guitar because she looks hot.  I know, blown it out the water, eh?  Yes, I did some research – I wasn’t about to part with cash on a whim.  I still have to be sure I can play it confidently and happily.  But the appearances did grab me first. 

I hate to say it, but I think I am as shallow as I appear…

2 Comments

  1. AngelusK said,

    A new guitar is always like Christmas! I bought one off Wesley a coupla months ago (mail-order only, cheap kit to learn stuff on; I’m a former bassist, no experience of 6-strings) based purely on looks, and tbh I felt like a manic 5-year-old when it turned up :o)

    Looks like a beauty anyway, hope you both have a lot of fun ^_^

    • peacockpete said,

      You’re right, it’s like Christmas AND a birthday! I hope you get on with the guitar and have a lot of fun too!

Leave a Reply

