Squirrelgate. What actually happened?

14/02/2010 at 12:03 pm (Pub, Squirrel, Taxidermy)


A couple of weeks ago, a friend of mine stayed down to catch one of our gigs. At the pub we played at, they had a stuffed squirrel. I’ve been there a few times and never noticed it before. This chap, however, noticed it straight away.

Beguiled by this rodent, he offerend to buy it. In the drunken haze it would appear that he actually offered to hire it, and send it back at a later date. Having had a few myself I vouched for him.

The landlady’s daughter, who was not party to this transaction, wanted it back. It has a sentimental value it would seem. Acting as middleman, I tried to negotiate the return of the squirrel. I was getting nowhere, and the situation began to take its toll on me.  I discovered a fresh striation of untapped neurosis I never knew existed.

I hate being involved in circumstances that involve other people’s property, and eventually I made a decision. I gave the original owner my friend’s e-mail address. It has been agreed that when I next see him, I will collect the squirrel and return it to its home at the pub.

A stupid stuffed squirrel.

Called Barry.
Leave a Reply

