79 Reasons Why Gays Still Fight For Tolerance

19/11/2010 at 5:00 pm (Gay)


Okay, Earth, I have to ask, what HAVE you got against gays?

Come on, seriously, what did we do?

I’ve read a report by The Pink Paper today – brought to my attention by @spawnofthediva – that was equally disappointing and infuriating. The United Nations, an organisation that I generally believe to be doing some good work for human rights, put to a vote the right to life of homosexuals and bisexuals.

A vote.

And you know what the outcome was? 79 countries voted to remove the right to life for gay men, lesbians, and other alternative sexualities. The UN is a massive body of people that is supposed to be mindful of the ethical treatment of people and their environment. Globally. So why put up to a vote to cut the rights of a whole section of people based solely on sexuality?

Instead of actually doing something about the brutal murder of people based on sexual orientation, the UN has in fact decided to take the problem out of the equation. This means that instead of addressing the growing call for executions of gays, lesbians, bisexuals, and transgender people of these 79 countries, it effectively sends the message that it is not important.

Now, in my heart of hearts, I am sure I must have my facts wrong. I still have enough faith in my fellow human to think that this must be inaccurate. If it is, please tell me. I can’t believe that I feel like saying, “well done” to the mere 70 countries (my own is fortunately one of that number) that voted against the removal of this condition.

This is getting ridiculous, quite frankly. I’m not for the collapse of family life – I love my family! I love being a part of it. I don’t want to see society collapse – I work, I pay my taxes and I contribute to the society I live among. If the people that know me, and know how I live my life don’t care that my lifestyle is different, what the hell is the rest of the world’s problem?

Earth, get a grip. Can you just stop with the stupid? Stop trying to use something as deeply personal as sexuality as a childish leverage for power.

And, I repeat, please tell me I have my facts wrong.

Details of how countries voted can be found here.

1 Comment

  1. Dragonlady said,

    There are days where I wish I could op-out of the human race. It’s to despair.

Leave a Reply

