My Life As A Dalek

12/07/2012 at 7:47 pm (Doctor Who) (, , , )


I do have a thing for dressing up..

NO! I mean, fancy dress.

My birthday is next month, and I’m wondering if I should have a themed birthday. If I do, I need to give guests the heads up. Then there’s the next question, what’s the theme?

I always love the idea of TV and films, and Sci-Fi is a perfect idea. It does help that I’m a massive geek, but it doesn’t have the stigma that it used to. Right?

Guys…?

Anyway, I was thinking, fancy dress costumes these days are so much more varied than years ago.  Even a Doctor Who geek like me has options.

It may slightly break my rules for fancy dress, but come on, I could totally get my extermination on! So I tried on the Doctor Who dalek costume from  online fancy dress store Joker’s Masquerade. I wasn’t really sure about it. It doesn’t really have the immediate bulk of  the metal monsters of Skaro. In fact, from certain angles, well most angles, it’s rather more like a prophylactic.

When you take the costume out of the bag, you need to cut off the Doctor Who licence merchandise tag, and insert the plastic hoop into the hem of the skirt section to give it its pepper pot shape. This is where the condom likeness becomes really apparent. I couldn’t quite get the ends of the hoop to join properly, giving it a bit of a kink (I’m missing a joke here, aren’t I?).

To wear the dalek costume, slide it right over your body. There are two slits on either side to push your arms through and a square cut out for your face. There’s a mesh panel at the back joined with velcro, presumably for you to escape fairly easily for air. Oddly, only the gun is detachable, and connected by a velcro strip. The eye stalk and the ‘plunger’, which isn’t plunger shaped and also looks rather dubious, doesn’t detach at all.

It’s actually quite easy to take on and off, which is a relief. It’s also fairly mobile and you can sit down in it, but don’t expect to have a drink at the same time.

It is a very silly costume, and not really one that’s designed for its accuracy, although it is a lot of fun. If you’re a bit stuck for costume ideas, it will raise a laugh. Especially in the office it would appear.

The Doctor Who dalek costume is available from Joker’s Masquerade, stockists of fancy dress and Halloween costumes now, at a special offer price of £19.99.

1 Comment

  1. linneajson said,

    That’s one great costume, that is!!

Leave a Reply

